Cornell Tech Library Services

Description:

ABI/INFORM contains business related articles, industry reports (First Research with call prep questions and BMI/Fitch for international coverage), and wires. You can opt to search just ABI/INFORM or add other ProQuest databases to search at the same time. Other databases by ProQuest include, but are not limited to: Historical Annual Reports – 42,000 annual reports from more than 800 leading North American companies. Dissertations & Theses – Citations and PDFs of select dissertations from universities around the world.

When to use:

Use this for finding First Research industry reports. Also good for when you need current or historical full-text articles and industry reports from a variety of sources or when you need historical annual reports.

Topics:

Description:

Over 1,600 engineering e-books, including Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook and Schaum’s Outlines. Includes online tutorials and DataVis, a tool that allows one to compare properties of hundreds of materials.

Topics:

Description:

Science and technology encyclopedia by McGraw-Hill. Besides articles it includes biographies of well-known scientists, animations, videos, and curriculum maps.

Topics:

Description:

Full-text to all Association for Computing Machinery journals, transactions, magazines, and proceedings since 1947.

Topics:

Description:

Created by Paul Ginsparg in 1991, arXiv is an archive of research papers in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.

Topics:

Description:

Full-text of journals (1960 to present), conferences (2002 to present), and e-books (1993 to present) published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Topics:

Description:

Some ASQ standards are included as part of the Knovel digital library.

Topics:

Description:

Associations often provide free industry data and white papers that cover important regulatory and market trends. Use this for finding the associations that you should be looking at.

Topics:

Description:

Complete standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials covering many engineering disciplines, plus ASTM journals, manuals, and special technical publications.

Topics:

Description:

Research platform that integrates legal information with business news and intelligence. Provides cases, statutes, news, docket information (PACER documents), a legal citator, points of law, and transactional documents (including EDGAR). Includes the following practice centers: Tech & Telecom, Antitrust, Corporate, Patents and Trade Secrets, Privacy & Data Security, Securities, Trademarks & Copyrights.

Topics:

Description:

Business Source Complete includes scholarly journals, business periodicals, trade journals, industry reports, and related information. It covers such topics as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. It also provide access to industry, market, and company research which often contain SWOT (Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities and Threats) analysis of larger companies.

When to use:

Use when you want to find business-oriented articles. Business Source Complete is the only campus resource that provides full-text access to Harvard Business Review (HBR) and McKinsey Quarterly.

Topics:

Description:

If asked for your username, enter your Cornell email address.  S&P’s Capital IQ is a premier financial database providing easy-to-use tools for financial statements, deals, and sector analysis, providing data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies. The platform provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports and has an Excel Plug-in modeling tool.

When to use:

Use the powerful screening and charting features to create a list of firms for your job search and/or target investments. Pull financials on firms, deals, and markets.

Topics:

Description:

News and analysis related to antitrust law. Includes current and archival access to the Antitrust Chronicle and CPI Journal.

Topics:

Description:

The dblp computer science bibliography provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. Originally created at the University of Trier in 1993, dblp is now operated and further developed by Schloss Dagstuhl.

Topics:

Description:

All companies regulated by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), both foreign and domestic, are required to file detailed reports of financial activity. This may include registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms, which are available electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you’ll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.

Topics:

Description:

EIU.com provides a suite of products from the Economist Intelligence Unit covering international markets. City Data – pricing information on over 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide. Items range from the cost of a loaf of bread to the average electricity bill of a local family, from the cost of office rents to median salary levels.  Country Data – source of economic indicators for more than 150 countries, with data going back to 1980.  Country Reports – in-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends for more than 200 countries. Market Indicators and Forecasts – economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries worldwide and 11 regional aggregates.

When to use:

Use EIU.com when doing research on countries other than the U.S. or when comparing multiple countries. City Data - Use City Data when you need a complete picture of global price levels. The vast majority of prices are gathered by EIU correspondents located in the cities themselves. Prices are collected from two types of stores: supermarkets and medium-priced retailers. Country Data - Use Country Data when you need annual, quarterly, or monthly time series data. Countries can be screened by selected economic variables and grouped based on economic and demographic criteria. Country Reports - Use Country Reports when you need background information or a current profile for a country, useful in an international business or marketing report. EIU Country Reports map out the infrastructure and the major industrial sectors of a country's economy as well as providing the political backdrop. Market Indicators and Forecasts - Use Market Indicators & Forecasts when you need economic and industry forecasts for the next five years and longer-term economic projections. Data is available in three different categories: actual, estimates, and forecasts.

Topics:

Description:

Comprehensive database with covering all fields of engineering.

Topics:

Description:

Factiva is a database that provides powerful tools for searching and monitoring daily newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, and trade publications including the Wall Street Journal (WSJ).  With its News Pages feature, Factiva allows you to browse the current day’s front-page headlines from major U.S. newspapers and magazines.

When to use:

Use Factiva when you need full-text access to thousands of publications, including global news and business information.

Topics:

Description:

Access to Financial Times (FT.com) is provided via a partnership of the library and the Johnson Graduate School of Management. FT.com provides the latest business news from around the world.

Cornell students, faculty, and staff should create an account with your Cornell email address. Mobile apps are available to use in conjunction with your account.

When to use:

Use to keep up to date on the latest news and research companies and industries.

Topics:

Description:

First Research industry profiles include industry trends, benchmark data, and call prep questions. You can find these reports in Mergent Intellect and ProQuest.

Topics:

Description:

Use to create a list of public and private foundations in the U.S.

Topics:

Description:

Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of emerging technologies in the following areas: Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation.

When to use:

Use when performing market research for emerging technologies.

Topics:

Description:

Searchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity’s IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. Parts of the database are only available to licensed institutions, but the site contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration

Topics:

Description:

Read Harvard Business Review articles through the Library’s subscription.

Topics:

Description:

Access to facsimile (PDF) versions of many different American, foreign, and international legal sources, including law journals, ALI restatements, foreign case reports, federal administrative regulations, federal statutes, U.S. treaties and agreements, historical legal treatises, among others.

Hosts numerous other databases, such as the Law Journal Library but also the American Law Institute Library (including Restatements and Model Penal Code), U.S. Federal Agency Documents Decisions and Appeals, and the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure amongst others.

Topics:

Description:

IBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for more than 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China and Canada. Reports include industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics.

When to use:

Use when you need either full reports or one-page snapshots on industries in Canada, China, and the United States.

Topics:

Description:

Premier electrical and computer engineering database. Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, books, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.

Topics:

Description:

Knovel provides access to reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences, and includes interactive tables, equation plotters, and searchable materials property data

Topics:

Description:

Online access to publications from American Lawyer Media (ALM). This includes: The American Lawyer, The National Law Journal, New York Law Journal, Supreme Court Brief, Corporate Counsel, Legaltech News. Legal Week, Inside Counsel, The Recorder, and others.

Topics:

Description:

Formerly Leadership Library, Leadership Connect allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location.

Topics:

Description:

Lexis is a comprehensive legal research system providing access to U.S. federal and state statutes, case law, news, treatises, and more. Individual accounts are available for members of the Cornell Law School community.

• Lexis+AI is a tool located in the Lexis database that will generate a conversational response to a legal question or prompt by using Lexis’s extractive AI features to retrieve and provide large language models with primary law, secondary sources, Practical Guidance documents, constitutions, court rules and more. Lexis+AI can answer a legal question, generate a draft of an email, argument, clause, or memo, and summarize a case. To navigate to Lexis+AI, sign-in to Lexis and then click on the icon labeled AI Assistant on the left side of the page.

Topics:

Description:

LinkedIn Learning offers 2,500 detailed courses with over 80,000 high-quality instructional videos on the latest software, creative, and business skills for people at all experience levels. Sign in with Single Sign-On. Use the www.cornell.edu domain if prompted. More information on linking it to your LinkedIn account available at https://it.cornell.edu/linkedinlearning/how-log-linkedin-learning

When to use:

Use when you want to learn or update technical skills.

Topics:

Description:

Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Databases cover 245 million global private businesses, more than 70 million US private businesses and 6,500 public companies.

When to use:

Use Mergent Intellect when you are looking for creating lists of companies by size, industry, location, and other criteria.

Topics:

Description:

Offers yearly market research reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets for products, markets and demographics. Analysis includes market sizes and forecasts, market trends, market segmentation, competitive context, broken down segment performances, retail channels, consumer demographics and survey results, leading companies, brand share, marketing strategies, and more.

When to use:

Use when you need detailed market research from a variety of sectors, including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. You will need to create an account using your Cornell email address.

Topics:

Description:

Cornell graduate students, faculty, staff, and researchers can access articles from the New York Times through Factiva. Law students please email lawref@cornell.edu for access.

Topics:

Description:

Full text access to federal and state cases, laws, and regulations, law review and journal articles, newspaper articles, business and financial information, company directories, and the Shepard’s case law citator service.

When to use:

Use when you need to do legal research or search a broad collections of newspapers and magazines worldwide.

Topics:

Description:

O’Reilly has a collection of e-books and videos on computer programming, user manuals, and business and management topics.

Topics:

Description:

Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Topics:

Description:

Excellent resource for international industries, countries, markets, and products. Market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and many product & location specific reports.

When to use:

Use to retrieve international market research data, including reports on specific products and industries.

Topics:

Description:

Pitchbook provides data covering the private equity space. Includes information on thousands of private equity and venture capital deals, investors, funds, LPs, and more. Official source of data for the National Venture Capital Association. Use your Cornell email address with the Log in with SSO option.

When to use:

Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.

Topics:

Description:

Complete access to Practising Law Institute’s treatises, course handbooks, legal forms, program transcripts and answer books.

Topics:

Description:

Contains materials pertaining to the U.S. Congress including the complete U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-2014; bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee reports, documents, and the Congressional Record. Includes digital images of many bills and resolutions.

Topics:

Description:

Includes over 18,000 thoroughly researched legislative histories, including the full text of the enacted public law, all versions of related bills, and related Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, committee reports, committee prints, Presidential signing statements, and miscellaneous congressional publications.

Topics:

Description:

Federal regulatory histories from 1936 to the present. Organized by statute and executive order. Also includes a research tool to facilitate regulatory research organized by agency (Agency View).

Topics:

Description:

Supreme Court materials for argued cases starting in 1933 that includes opinions, briefs, dockets, oral arguments, and joint appendices. Also includes briefs from paid cases from 1975 forward in which the petition for writ of certiorari (PWC) was denied.

Topics:

Description:

More than 34 million citations for publications on biomedical and life sciences topics.

Topics:

Description:

is an interdisciplinary database with records of over 83 million scholarly literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities

Topics:

Description:

Excellent resource for international industries, countries, markets, and products. Market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and many product & location specific reports.

When to use:

Use when you need demographic and marketing data for a specific geographic area in the U.S. such as a city, county, census tract, or ZIP code. Use the guest login or, if you want to save maps and tables for later, create your own account using your Cornell email address.

Topics:

Description:

Skillsoft Percipio provides e-books and video courses on information topics, including networking, programming, languages, and desktop applications.

Topics:

Description:

Full-text access to scholarly literature in the fields of optics and photonics research from 1962 to present.

Topics:

Description:

SpringerLink provides access to over 65,000 e-books as well as to journals, book series, e-references, and protocols; their Synthesis Collection of Technology includes over 400 short books on artificial intelligence, communication networks, electrical engineering, informatics, synthetic biology, and life sciences (each book synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field).

Topics:

Description:

Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on more than 600 industries. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics.

When to use:

Use Statista when you are looking for statistics visually displayed in charts and infographics.

Topics:

Description:

Lectures and book series in subject areas like Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, Human-Centered Informatics, and Technology, Management, & Entrepreneurship.

Topics:

Description:

Technavio provides over 17,000 marketing research reports over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.

When to use:

Use Technavio when researching emerging and niche industries such as specialty chemicals, materials, health care, IT, energy, and more. Users can download up to 20 reports a month. Requests may take from 10 minutes to several hours to process.

Topics:

Description:

Free access to: over 168,000 companies; 68,000 product and service categories; thousands of online suppliers catalogs and web site links.

When to use:

Use this to find companies, products and supplier catalogs.

Topics:

Description:

The authoritative source of information on multinational firms operating around the world. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations–wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch [sic]. Non U.S. companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States–Introductory page. Databases may be searched by country, region, state, keyword, zip code or postal code, industry code, revenue and number of employees. Search results can be viewed in HTML and printed, or downloaded into Microsoft Excel.

Topics:

Description:

Urban Studies Abstracts provides records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline

Topics:

Description:

The Vault Guides to Jobs series is ideal for learning about careers and include information on the work environment, education requirements, a typical day in the life, and career outlook. Previously also known as FirstHand.

When to use:

Use when you are job hunting or looking for a tool to help you manage your career.

Topics:

Description:

Access to the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) is provided via a partnership of the library and the Cornell Student Assembly. WSJ.com provides the latest business news from around the world. Cornell students, faculty, and staff should create an account with your Cornell email address. Mobile apps are available to use in conjunction with your account.

When to use:

Use to keep up to date on the latest news and research companies and industries.

Topics:

Description:

Web of Science provides records to scholarly literature in all subjects from 1900 to the present.

Topics:

Description:

Westlaw Precision is a comprehensive legal research system providing access to U.S. federal and state statutes, case law, news, treatises, and more. Individual accounts are available for members of the Cornell Law School community.

• Ask Practical Law AI: Ask Practical Law AI is a generative AI-based, question-and-answer tool located in the Westlaw Precision/Practical Law database that answers legal questions by retrieving and summarizing information from a closed universe of Practical Law resources. Practical Law resources include practice notes for attorneys, standard documents and clauses, checklists, toolkits, and guides that are written by attorney-editors, it does not include primary legal sources.

Topics:

Description:

LSEG Workspace contains public and private company information for both U.S. and international firms, investment reports, breaking news and economic statistics. It covers a broad range of financial market trends, and includes deals data, private equity/venture capital coverage, and environmental performance information (ESG). After Market Research reports are from well-known investment analyst firms. Refinitiv Workspace provides access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.

Users must self-register with @cornell.edu address.

When to use:

Use Workspace when you are looking for deals, financials, or analyst reports.

Topics: