Databases – Cornell Tech Library Services

Capital IQ

Description:

If asked for your username, enter your Cornell email address. S&P’s Capital IQ is a premier financial database providing easy-to-use tools for financial statements, deals, and sector analysis, providing data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies. The platform provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports and has an Excel Plug-in modeling tool.

When to use:

Use the powerful screening and charting features to create a list of firms for your job search and/or target investments. Pull financials on firms, deals, and markets.

Topics:

Company Directories Finance Industry Private Equity

Off campus access

If you encounter problems logging in, please clear your browser's cache completely. Log Out when done to help avoid issues later logging back in. If you continue to have trouble accessing, please email mgtref@cornell.edu with a screenshot of the error message.

EDGAR (SEC)

Description:

All companies regulated by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), both foreign and domestic, are required to file detailed reports of financial activity. This may include registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms, which are available electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you’ll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.

Topics:

Finance SEC Filings

Alumni access

Off campus access

PitchBook

Description:

Pitchbook provides data covering the private equity space. Includes information on thousands of private equity and venture capital deals, investors, funds, LPs, and more. Official source of data for the National Venture Capital Association. Use your Cornell email address with the Log in with SSO option.

When to use:

Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.

Topics:

Entrepreneurship Finance Private Equity

Account required

Off campus access

Use your Cornell email to log in with SSO.

Downloads are capped at 10 a day or 25 a month. Whichever is less. Accounts are purged each year on May 30th. Eligible users need to create a new account to regain access.

Workspace

Description:

LSEG Workspace contains public and private company information for both U.S. and international firms, investment reports, breaking news and economic statistics. It covers a broad range of financial market trends, and includes deals data, private equity/venture capital coverage, and environmental performance information (ESG). After Market Research reports are from well-known investment analyst firms. Refinitiv Workspace provides access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.

Users must self-register with @cornell.edu address.

When to use:

Use Workspace when you are looking for deals, financials, or analyst reports.

Topics:

Academic Research Analyst Reports Company Finance Private Equity Sustainability/CSR

Account required

Off campus access

See description for self-registration link. Researchers who want to use Datastream, SDC, or equity analyst reports (AMR) should contact library@tech.cornell.edu for access. Note that we have a limited number of seats to some content, so we occasionally need to deactivate add-ons. Email library@tech.cornell.edu if you have any questions.

Sort by topic

Have a question?

The Cornell Tech Library Services team is here to support you. E-mail us at library@tech.cornell.edu. All questions are welcome!