Cornell Tech Library Services

Description:

ABI/INFORM contains business related articles, industry reports (First Research with call prep questions and BMI/Fitch for international coverage), and wires. You can opt to search just ABI/INFORM or add other ProQuest databases to search at the same time. Other databases by ProQuest include, but are not limited to: Historical Annual Reports – 42,000 annual reports from more than 800 leading North American companies. Dissertations & Theses – Citations and PDFs of select dissertations from universities around the world.

When to use:

Use this for finding First Research industry reports. Also good for when you need current or historical full-text articles and industry reports from a variety of sources or when you need historical annual reports.

Topics:

Description:

Business Source Complete includes scholarly journals, business periodicals, trade journals, industry reports, and related information. It covers such topics as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. It also provide access to industry, market, and company research which often contain SWOT (Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities and Threats) analysis of larger companies.

When to use:

Use when you want to find business-oriented articles. Business Source Complete is the only campus resource that provides full-text access to Harvard Business Review (HBR) and McKinsey Quarterly.

Topics:

Description:

If asked for your username, enter your Cornell email address.  S&P’s Capital IQ is a premier financial database providing easy-to-use tools for financial statements, deals, and sector analysis, providing data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies. The platform provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports and has an Excel Plug-in modeling tool.

When to use:

Use the powerful screening and charting features to create a list of firms for your job search and/or target investments. Pull financials on firms, deals, and markets.

Topics:

Description:

Factiva is a database that provides powerful tools for searching and monitoring daily newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, and trade publications including the Wall Street Journal (WSJ).  With its News Pages feature, Factiva allows you to browse the current day’s front-page headlines from major U.S. newspapers and magazines.

When to use:

Use Factiva when you need full-text access to thousands of publications, including global news and business information.

Topics:

Description:

Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Databases cover 245 million global private businesses, more than 70 million US private businesses and 6,500 public companies.

When to use:

Use Mergent Intellect when you are looking for creating lists of companies by size, industry, location, and other criteria.

Topics:

Description:

Free access to: over 168,000 companies; 68,000 product and service categories; thousands of online suppliers catalogs and web site links.

When to use:

Use this to find companies, products and supplier catalogs.

Topics:

Description:

LSEG Workspace contains public and private company information for both U.S. and international firms, investment reports, breaking news and economic statistics. It covers a broad range of financial market trends, and includes deals data, private equity/venture capital coverage, and environmental performance information (ESG). After Market Research reports are from well-known investment analyst firms. Refinitiv Workspace provides access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.

Users must self-register with @cornell.edu address.

When to use:

Use Workspace when you are looking for deals, financials, or analyst reports.

Topics: