Cornell Tech Library Services

Description:

Research platform that integrates legal information with business news and intelligence. Provides cases, statutes, news, docket information (PACER documents), a legal citator, points of law, and transactional documents (including EDGAR). Includes the following practice centers: Tech & Telecom, Antitrust, Corporate, Patents and Trade Secrets, Privacy & Data Security, Securities, Trademarks & Copyrights.

Topics:

Description:

News and analysis related to antitrust law. Includes current and archival access to the Antitrust Chronicle and CPI Journal.

Topics:

Description:

Access to facsimile (PDF) versions of many different American, foreign, and international legal sources, including law journals, ALI restatements, foreign case reports, federal administrative regulations, federal statutes, U.S. treaties and agreements, historical legal treatises, among others.

Hosts numerous other databases, such as the Law Journal Library but also the American Law Institute Library (including Restatements and Model Penal Code), U.S. Federal Agency Documents Decisions and Appeals, and the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure amongst others.

Topics:

Description:

Online access to publications from American Lawyer Media (ALM). This includes: The American Lawyer, The National Law Journal, New York Law Journal, Supreme Court Brief, Corporate Counsel, Legaltech News. Legal Week, Inside Counsel, The Recorder, and others.

Topics:

Description:

Lexis is a comprehensive legal research system providing access to U.S. federal and state statutes, case law, news, treatises, and more. Individual accounts are available for members of the Cornell Law School community.

• Lexis+AI is a tool located in the Lexis database that will generate a conversational response to a legal question or prompt by using Lexis’s extractive AI features to retrieve and provide large language models with primary law, secondary sources, Practical Guidance documents, constitutions, court rules and more. Lexis+AI can answer a legal question, generate a draft of an email, argument, clause, or memo, and summarize a case. To navigate to Lexis+AI, sign-in to Lexis and then click on the icon labeled AI Assistant on the left side of the page.

Topics:

Description:

Full text access to federal and state cases, laws, and regulations, law review and journal articles, newspaper articles, business and financial information, company directories, and the Shepard’s case law citator service.

When to use:

Use when you need to do legal research or search a broad collections of newspapers and magazines worldwide.

Topics:

Description:

Complete access to Practising Law Institute’s treatises, course handbooks, legal forms, program transcripts and answer books.

Topics:

Description:

Contains materials pertaining to the U.S. Congress including the complete U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-2014; bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee reports, documents, and the Congressional Record. Includes digital images of many bills and resolutions.

Topics:

Description:

Includes over 18,000 thoroughly researched legislative histories, including the full text of the enacted public law, all versions of related bills, and related Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, committee reports, committee prints, Presidential signing statements, and miscellaneous congressional publications.

Topics:

Description:

Federal regulatory histories from 1936 to the present. Organized by statute and executive order. Also includes a research tool to facilitate regulatory research organized by agency (Agency View).

Topics:

Description:

Supreme Court materials for argued cases starting in 1933 that includes opinions, briefs, dockets, oral arguments, and joint appendices. Also includes briefs from paid cases from 1975 forward in which the petition for writ of certiorari (PWC) was denied.

Topics:

Description:

Westlaw Precision is a comprehensive legal research system providing access to U.S. federal and state statutes, case law, news, treatises, and more. Individual accounts are available for members of the Cornell Law School community.

• Ask Practical Law AI: Ask Practical Law AI is a generative AI-based, question-and-answer tool located in the Westlaw Precision/Practical Law database that answers legal questions by retrieving and summarizing information from a closed universe of Practical Law resources. Practical Law resources include practice notes for attorneys, standard documents and clauses, checklists, toolkits, and guides that are written by attorney-editors, it does not include primary legal sources.

Topics: