Cornell Tech Library Services

Description:

If asked for your username, enter your Cornell email address.  S&P’s Capital IQ is a premier financial database providing easy-to-use tools for financial statements, deals, and sector analysis, providing data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies. The platform provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports and has an Excel Plug-in modeling tool.

When to use:

Use the powerful screening and charting features to create a list of firms for your job search and/or target investments. Pull financials on firms, deals, and markets.

Topics:

Description:

Use to create a list of public and private foundations in the U.S.

Topics:

Description:

Searchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity’s IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. Parts of the database are only available to licensed institutions, but the site contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration

Topics:

Description:

Formerly Leadership Library, Leadership Connect allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location.

Topics:

Description:

Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Databases cover 245 million global private businesses, more than 70 million US private businesses and 6,500 public companies.

When to use:

Use Mergent Intellect when you are looking for creating lists of companies by size, industry, location, and other criteria.

Topics:

Description:

Free access to: over 168,000 companies; 68,000 product and service categories; thousands of online suppliers catalogs and web site links.

When to use:

Use this to find companies, products and supplier catalogs.

Topics:

Description:

The authoritative source of information on multinational firms operating around the world. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations–wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch [sic]. Non U.S. companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States–Introductory page. Databases may be searched by country, region, state, keyword, zip code or postal code, industry code, revenue and number of employees. Search results can be viewed in HTML and printed, or downloaded into Microsoft Excel.

Topics: