Cornell Tech Library Services

Description:

ABI/INFORM contains business related articles, industry reports (First Research with call prep questions and BMI/Fitch for international coverage), and wires. You can opt to search just ABI/INFORM or add other ProQuest databases to search at the same time. Other databases by ProQuest include, but are not limited to: Historical Annual Reports – 42,000 annual reports from more than 800 leading North American companies. Dissertations & Theses – Citations and PDFs of select dissertations from universities around the world.

When to use:

Use this for finding First Research industry reports. Also good for when you need current or historical full-text articles and industry reports from a variety of sources or when you need historical annual reports.

Topics:

Description:

Associations often provide free industry data and white papers that cover important regulatory and market trends. Use this for finding the associations that you should be looking at.

Topics:

Description:

Business Source Complete includes scholarly journals, business periodicals, trade journals, industry reports, and related information. It covers such topics as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. It also provide access to industry, market, and company research which often contain SWOT (Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities and Threats) analysis of larger companies.

When to use:

Use when you want to find business-oriented articles. Business Source Complete is the only campus resource that provides full-text access to Harvard Business Review (HBR) and McKinsey Quarterly.

Topics:

Description:

If asked for your username, enter your Cornell email address.  S&P’s Capital IQ is a premier financial database providing easy-to-use tools for financial statements, deals, and sector analysis, providing data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies. The platform provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports and has an Excel Plug-in modeling tool.

When to use:

Use the powerful screening and charting features to create a list of firms for your job search and/or target investments. Pull financials on firms, deals, and markets.

Topics:

Description:

First Research industry profiles include industry trends, benchmark data, and call prep questions. You can find these reports in Mergent Intellect and ProQuest.

Topics:

Description:

Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of emerging technologies in the following areas: Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation.

When to use:

Use when performing market research for emerging technologies.

Topics:

Description:

IBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for more than 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China and Canada. Reports include industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics.

When to use:

Use when you need either full reports or one-page snapshots on industries in Canada, China, and the United States.

Topics:

Description:

Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Databases cover 245 million global private businesses, more than 70 million US private businesses and 6,500 public companies.

When to use:

Use Mergent Intellect when you are looking for creating lists of companies by size, industry, location, and other criteria.

Topics:

Description:

Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on more than 600 industries. In addition to tables and charts, Statista also provides infographics and studies on selected industries and topics.

When to use:

Use Statista when you are looking for statistics visually displayed in charts and infographics.

Topics:

Description:

Technavio provides over 17,000 marketing research reports over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.

When to use:

Use Technavio when researching emerging and niche industries such as specialty chemicals, materials, health care, IT, energy, and more. Users can download up to 20 reports a month. Requests may take from 10 minutes to several hours to process.

Topics: